Skip to content ↓

The Downley School

“Learning, Growing and Succeeding Together”

Governor meetings and visits

On Monitoring days, governors come into school for the day for a learning walk, to meet with staff and the children in order to know their school and to monitor safeguarding and key areas on the school development plan.

Governors also have a specific link role, such as equality and diversity, and may make additional visits to school to meet with the relevant staff members and children to monitor these specific areas.

Full Governing Board meetings are held regularly where all Governors attend and agenda's are focussed on key themes including procedural business, vision and strategy, school development plan, self evaluation, curriculum, teaching and learning, data, finances, premises, health and safety, safeguarding, link governor reporting and other projects. There is a separate Pay Committee responsible for Human Resources and pay. 

We are guided by the Local Authority Terms of Reference.

2018-19 Academic Year Governor monitoring days and Full Governing Board meeting dates:

Monitoring day: Meeting dates:
  Thu 29 Sep 
  Tue 30 Oct
Thur 15 Nov  
  Wed 5 Dec
  Wed 6 Feb
  Wed 20 Mar
Thur 4 Apr  
  Tue 23 Apr
  Thu 9 May
  Tue 4 Jun
Thur 27 Jun  
  Wed 17 Jul